‘Each member of NMI delegation to DNC shouldered their expenses’


Each of the 13 members of the CNMI delegation to the three-day Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia shouldered their own expenses, according to delegation chair Janet H. King.

King told Saipan Tribune that each of them paid for their own plane tickets, hotel stays, and incidentals.

Most members of the CNMI delegation arrived in Philadelphia on Friday, July 22, and the rest arrived on Sunday, July 24.

There are four Hillary Clinton pledged delegates and King serves as delegation chair. The other Clinton pledged delegates are attorney Joe Hill, Angelo Villagomez, and Mona Manglona. Frances Castro, an alternate delegate, is also a credentials committee member.

Attorney Stephen Woodruff and Bob Schwalbach are pledged delegates to U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders.

The five super delegates pledged to Clinton are CNMI Delegate Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (Ind-MP), NMI Democratic Party chair Daniel O. Quitugua, NMI Democratic Party treasurer Emiliana Chargualaf, former judge Herbert Soll, and Nola Hix.

Attorney Michael White is a member of the rules committee, while attorney Brian Flaherty is the delegation page.

It’s the first time a CNMI delegation has attended the Democratic National Convention that takes place every four years ahead of the U.S. Presidential elections.

King said they owe their attendance at DNC to retired judge and current Attorney General Edward Manibusan, former judge Soll, Schwalback, CNMI Delegate Sablan, and countless others.

“But these are the initial sparks that began what you see now as a movement set ablaze,” King said.

Ferdie De La Torre | Reporter
Ferdie Ponce de la Torre is a senior reporter of Saipan Tribune. He has a bachelor’s degree in journalism and has covered all news beats in the CNMI. He is a recipient of the CNMI Supreme Court Justice Award. Contact him at ferdie_delatorre@Saipantribune.com

Related Posts

Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.