• Mobil Smiles Reward

Tinian son is named FAPAC awardee

Posted on May 03 2021

Tinian-born Chief Petty Officer Richard Hofschneider of the U.S. Coast Guard has been named one of the recipients of the 2021 Federal Asian Pacific American Council awards.

Hofschneider has been on active duty since he graduated from high school in 2000 and is currently stationed in Guam. He is also known to many as the leader of the local band Pacific Cool.

The son of the late Henry U. Hofschneider (Kuñados Tinian) and Ana Maria B. Hofschneider, he is married to Marjorie DelaCruz-Hofschneider and they have two children. 

The FAPAC awards include the Uniformed Services, Civilian, and Distinguished Public Service Scholarship Awards. These awards recognize civilians and military service members who have made significant contributions to the advancement and promotion of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. The presenting group, FAPAC, is the premier organization representing Asian American and Pacific Islander employees in the federal and District of Columbia governments.

The awards will be presented at the 36th National Leadership Training Program to be held virtually on May 26 and May 27, 2021. Due to the current COVID-19 situation, the 2021 NLTP is going to be all virtual.

The 2021 honorees are:


U.S. Army
-Captain Joseph Estallila
-Sergeant First Class Rizmel Paguio

U.S. Marine Corps
-Sergeant Jamary Tumaquip
-Corporal Caleb Crone

U.S. Navy
-Chief Petty Officer James Dy

U.S. Air Force
-Captain Hanna Sparks
-Technical Sergeant Ferdinand Hooper

U. S. Coast Guard
-Commander Hoon Park
-Chief Petty Officer Richard Hofschneider

Public Health Service Commissioned Corps
-Lieutenant Commander Nancy Tian


Diversity Excellence: Individual who has shown a remarkable contribution towards diversity and inclusion through collaboration and against all odds.

-Lena Chang, Department of the Interior (DOI)
-Kelly Sewell, Department of the Interior (DOI)

Excellence in Individual Achievement:  Individual who has shown the greatest contribution toward the AAPI representation at all levels as compared to the total AAPI population.

-Emma Chen, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
-Mary Tran, Naval Air Warfare Center

Outstanding Individual Leadership:  Individual who has shown bold leadership and innovative ways in promoting Equal Employment Opportunity (EEO), Affirmative Action, and Diversity.

-Larry Mack, NASA
-Linh Le, Naval Air Warfare Center


-Rebecca Soo, University of California, Berkeley (PR)

Press Release
News under Press Release are official statements issued to Saipan Tribune giving information on a particular matter.
Disclaimer: Comments are moderated. They will not appear immediately or even on the same day. Comments should be related to the topic. Off-topic comments would be deleted. Profanities are not allowed. Comments that are potentially libelous, inflammatory, or slanderous would be deleted.